Anderson to continue as city mayor if MP bid fails

Joe Anderson says he will continue as city mayor if his bid to become a Member of Parliament fails.

Speaking for the first time since making his shock announcement yesterday – Mayor Anderson also said he backs Steve Rotheram “110%” in his bid to become the new Metro Mayor of the city region.

Mayor-Joe-Anderson-640x330
Anderson has put himself forward for the Walton Parliamentary seat

The seat – regarded as a very safe one for Labour – will become available if incumbent Steve Rotheram lands the Metro Mayor position in an election on May 4 as he would then not seek re-selection in Walton.

Steve-Rotheram
Steve Rotherham, current MP for Walton, will not seek re-election if elected as Metro Mayor of Liverpool on May 4

A decision on who will be Labour’s Walton candidate will be made by the party’s National Executive Committee but Mayor Anderson said a decision against him will not see him walk away from his current role.

Speaking to the Liverpool ECHO he said: “I was elected for four years, I have done a year and got three to go – we have got really exciting things happening now in the city and things we will announce shortly.

“The issue for me is trying to defend our city aginst the austerity measures that this government is continuing to impose on us and its that challenge that I want to take up and go to government, look them in the eye and argue that case. I know more than anybody the problems we will face in a few years.

“I would continue as mayor because not only have I got a platform to continue to use against austerity but I think my experience, my knowledge and the fact I have been the leader for seven years shows that we can get through this.”

Leave a Reply

